Hotline: +254-20-2227411, 999, 112 or 911

Monday, July 15, 2019

Custom Adv 1

Immigration Services Department
The control of entry and residence of foreigners into this country dates back to the introduction of what was called the Immigration Restriction Ordinance of 1906. This Ordinance restricted the influx of foreigners especially Indians, coming to the then Kenya Colony and Protectorate upon completion of the Kenya - Uganda Railway (KUR).  The Immigration Ordinance of 1st August 1948 formed the basis of the present day Department of Immigration, which was curved from the Police Department in 1950. Other Acts of Parliament to control entry of foreigners were enacted in 1964 and 1967. Currently, Citizenship and Immigration matters are governed by the Constitution of Kenya, 2010 and the Citizenship and Immigration Act of 2011.

Civil Registration Department (CRD)
Registration of births and deaths was introduced for the first time in Kenya (then East African Protectorate) in 1904 However, in 1928, Parliament enacted the Births and Deaths Registration Act (Cap 149) to provide for compulsory notification and registration of births and deaths in Kenya. At that time, the Act provided for compulsory registration of births and deaths of Europeans, Americans and Indians throughout Kenya. Civil Registration Department became a fully pledged department in 1989 responsible for births and deaths occurring in Kenya and

National Registration Bureau (NRB)
The National Registration Bureau became a fully pledged department in 1978 It was mandated through the Registration of Persons  Act (Cap.107) Laws of Kenya to identify, register and issue Identity cards to all Kenyan citizens both male and female who had attained the age of sixteen (16) years and above.  It is during this transition that the book form of the identity card was replaced with a card (first Generation Identity Card) which was enclosed in a plastic envelope and heat laminated. Also, in 1980 the age of registration and issuance of identity cards was raised from 16 years to 18 years and above. In 1995 second generation identity card system was launched which is still in use to date.

Integrated Population Registration System Department(IPRS)
The Integrate Population Registration Service was established in 2008 with the mandate of fully implementing and managing the Integrated Population Registration System (IPRS). This is a government endeavour to create a national population register as single source of personal information of all Kenyan citizens and registered foreigners resident in Kenya.

Department of Refugees Affairs (DRA)
Before Kenya independence, there was no law recognizing refugees in Kenya. However, after independence the government set up a secretariat under the then Ministry of Home Affairs which steadily increased refugees documentation, registration and settlement programmes in urban centers. From the 1990s the country experienced an influx emanating from Somalia, Ethiopia, Rwanda, Congo and Sudan. The influx soared the numbers to more than 500,000 people spread in various camps and reception centers across the country. Currently, there are two camps in Kakuma and Dadaab hosting more than 550,000 people.   In the year 2006 Parliament enacted Refugee Act to address refugee affairs. This thereafter led to the creation of Refugee Affairs department.


The Executive
The Judiciary
The National Assembly


State Department of Interior
Directorate of Immigration and Registration of Persons
Department of Immigration Services
National Registration Bureau
Department of Refugee Affairs
Department of Civil Registration
Integrated Population Registration Services


Ministry of Interior & Cordination
of National Government
Harambee House, Harambee Avenue
P.O Box 30510,00100 Nairobi.
Tel: +254-20-2227411